EVER BEEN to MIAMI  BEACH ?

11/02/2022

Yep, Miami Beach

On our first trip out there we didn't know what to expect. We had been going to Miami Beach as beach goers for years, swimming, surfing. But this time it was different. Our mission was to approach complete strangers with a gospel tract or a friendly greeting in order to start up conversations centered around Jesus Christ and why He came to earth. On our way to the public parking lot we noticed several people walking around with pride-themed flags, colors and clothing (or lack of clothing). This was not what we expected and we were a bit unsure that we would be able to focus our conversations on eternal truths without other distracting agendas or topics.

As my brother and I began approaching people we were pleased to learn a few things. Number one, that the area of Miami Beach where we were was teeming with people. They were everywhere, sitting, skating, working out, walking dogs, people watching. The first thought that came to mind was the verse in Matt. 9:36, "The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few;  therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest."

Secondly, we encountered people from all around the world, Europe, USA, South America, Asia, Canada, the Middle East. The world comes to South Beach. What an incredible opportunity it is to go to a place here in the U.S. to find people from all over the world to whom we can give the Gospel.

Lastly, as I approached a gay couple sitting on a park bench arm in arm, I offered them gospel tracts and told them we were here to tell people about the truth of Christ. One was friendly and took a tract, the other did not and glared at me, so of course I continued. At one point as I talked to them I paused and began to speak of the incredible love of God, and how that He offered Himself as a sacrifice for our sins. I then expressed my love and concern for these two guys and at that point I got the attention of both of them. They looked me in the eye, even the unfriendly one, and listened as I explained the Gospel to them both. Our prayer that day was that the Lord would give us opportunities to present the full Gospel and that we would run into people with open hearts to hearing about the Lord. God answered our prayers that day and we spend several more hours on the beach in deep discussions with strangers about the Lord. What an incredible day that was.

-Keith Oliver

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started